Home » Meme / Surveys » Feature & Follow #5

Feature & Follow #5

8474595901_873f4993f4 Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. It’s a fun way to find other blogs and meet new bloggers.

You can follow Lit, etc via Twitter, Facebook, Networked Blogs, or subscribe to the blog via email. Please let me know if you’re a new follower and I’ll follow back.


Q: What is your guilty pleasure as far as reading? Is it a genre, or is it a certain type of book?

I can’t say no to historical romances especially those set in Regency / Victorian times. I have to say, I LOVE long lost lovers reunited. There’s something about the angst of them being apart to the smoldering looks they give each other across the ballroom and the whole will they or won’t they that calls me.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

26 thoughts on “Feature & Follow #5

    • Well maybe I should have said I prefer the sexual tension in them. LOL! I do like the angst that comes from the separation.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I really like Liz Carlyle (her earlier books featured the era). You can’t go wrong with Mary Balogh or Elizabeth Thornton. I’ve enjoyed Julia Quinn, Stephanie Laurens, Eloisa James in the past. Who are yours?

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  1. I’m only now started to get into historical, through paranormal YA historical like Something Strange & Deadly and The Madman’s Daughter. They have so many interesting elements. My guilty pleasure is zombie fiction … I can’t get enough of that stuff.

    • A lot of people shy away from historicals because they think they are going to be drowning in historical facts, etc when it’s not the case. Charles Finch likes to use aspects of history in his detective novels, but they don’t overwhelm you.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Oh I agree. I don’t feel guilty about reading them because I view it as fiction. LOL

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Your comment on my blog made me laugh. I haven’t read any historical romances. The “will they” or “won’t they” would drive me insane, unless I knew for sure they will. They have to or I’ll be depressed for days, weeks. I’ve watched movies like that. I rewrote the endings in my head. Maybe you can offer a couple titles where they will!

    • Most people shy away from historical romance because I think they’ll get overwhelmed with historical details, etc. Not really found much, but the right author will open your eyes.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I don’t think I could ever give it up. LOL! Although I shy away from new debut authors because some are just too modern and are wallpaper historicals.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Historical fiction isn’t for everyone and a lot of people I think shy away from it because they see it as drowning in facts or boring. It takes a bit to find one that resonates with you.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Historical romances are great! I used to read them all the time, but I have drifted away a bit. I love Julia Quinn, and always read her books. I also have such a soft spot for Julie Garwood’s historicals. The heroes are always soooooo dreamy. Plus the books have a lot of humor in them which works for me 🙂

Comments are closed.