Home » Films / TV Series » Film Friday: The Bridges of Madison County

Film Friday: The Bridges of Madison County

I haven’t read the book, but I adore the film!  The scene in the rain where Robert is waiting for Francesca gets me all worked up with tears and I keep saying, “go, go, go,” and when the scene is over I’m just an emotional mess.

Francesca: I had thoughts about him I hardly knew what to do with, and he read every one. Whatever I wanted, he gave himself up to, and in that moment everything I knew to be true about myself was gone. I was acting like another woman, yet I was more myself than ever before.

 

The Bridges of Madison County (1995)
Photographer Robert Kincaid wanders into the life of housewife Francesca Johnson, for four days in the 1960s.

2 thoughts on “Film Friday: The Bridges of Madison County

  1. I must read the book! Listen to this quote:

    “It’s clear to me now that I have been moving toward you and you toward me for a long time. Though neither of us was aware of the other before we met, there was a kind of mindless certainty bumming blithely along beneath our ignorance that ensured we would come together. Like two solitary birds flying the great prairies by celestial reckoning, all of these years and lifetimes we have been moving toward one another.”
    ― Robert James Waller, The Bridges of Madison County

  2. Oh my goodness, this movie! I loved it so much. It was filmed in my mom’s hometown. The only thing they altered in the movie to make it fit the time period was the cars, everything else was straight up Winterset, Iowa. Oh, and they had to build a replica bridge for the filming. That scene in the car in the rain, I bawled my eyes out. Her internal dialogue was amazing. I haven’t read the book, but I’ll tune into your review when you do.

Comments are closed.