Home » Meme / Surveys » Books I Recommend

Books I Recommend

topten1
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: Books you recommend.

A problem I run into when people ask others for book recommendations is, there is never a question of what books does the person asking like. If you ask them, it saves you the time from trying to find something they might not be interested in reading or hating.

For Mystery / Thriller Fans
beautifulblue heartsick 11162684-large
A Beautiful Blue Death by Charles Finch. I always recommend this to mystery fans especially those who are fans of a traditional detective novel. It does suffer from debut hiccups, but it introduces to gentleman detective Charles Lenox.

Heartsick by Chelsea Cain. If you’re looking for a serial killer series, this is your book, but instead of a traditional male killer Cain writes a twist: a beautiful female killer.

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. Looking for a mind fuck? This is your book.

For Contemporary Romance Readers
13372690 gabriels
Slammed by Colleen Hoover. I remember reading this one by accident because the book I really wanted to read wouldn’t load properly on my e-reader. Needless to say I’ve not looked back and read it in one sitting. Loved it!

Gabriel’s Inferno by Sylvain Reynard. I read this book last year and didn’t find it out had been Twilight fan fiction until 4 months later. I was disappointed, but you know I still enjoy it and recommend it. Everyone should meet the Professor!

Historical Romance
private raven scorned
Private Arrangements by Sherry Thomas. This was Sherry’s debut novel and this pretty much proves why she’s an awesome writer. I became a fan right away.

The Raven Prince by Elizabeth Hoyt. Like Sherry, this was Elizabeth’s debut novel. It’s one of my favorites and Edward is a grumpy hero, but for good reason!

A Woman Scorned by Liz Carlyle. This is Liz’s second book, but one of her best. I think classic Liz (those published prior to Three Little Secrets) are her best overall.

For Children
Island 50th Edition green-eggs-and-ham
Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O’Dell. I ADORED this book as a child and if invited to a child’s birthday party, etc this is the gift I give.

Green Eggs and Ham by Dr. Seuss. Haha, I use to drive my parents crazy with constantly reading this. It’s still a favorite of mine as an adult.

Honorable Mentions:
Tangled Web by Mary Balogh. This one is my favorite of hers! It’s just full of heartbreak.

Lord of Scoundrels by Loretta Chase. If you only read ONE historical romance novel, this is it.

Deadly Love by Brenda Joyce. The first book in her Francesca Cahill series, it introduces us to Francesca, crime-solver extraordinaire. It has everything-mystery and romance.

The Maltese Falcon by Dashiell Hammett. If you only read ONE mystery novel, this is it. It’s one of my favorites and of course the film version with Bogart isn’t bad.

41 thoughts on “Books I Recommend

  1. All of these book are new to me except for Dr. Seuss, of course. Such a great classic children’s book! I love to flip through it, even now.

    • When I’m feeling really down, I open my very very worn copy and it cheers me up.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I just think we get caught up in our genre preferences that we forget that others don’t read what we do. Then sometimes they’ll want to step out of their genre world.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. I really like this weeks top ten. It is giving me such a nice look at books I normally would never have thought of. Thanks for the recommendations!

    • I picked up a few new recommendations and there’s some I forgot about it.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Ahh! You’ll have to tell me what you think about Gone Girl.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. All these books are quite new to me! I bought Gone Girl for a friend of mine, but I haven’t read it. I’ve heard really good things about it. Thanks for sharing :). And thank you for stopping by my TTT.

    • Gone Girl is one of those you’ll love or hate depending on the twist Flynn gives us. Everyone I’ve spoken to has loved it. I hope you get around to reading it. If you do, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Funny enough I buy copies of Island for others, but don’t own a copy. I need to buy one.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. What a Great list! Slammed was amazing and Point of Retreat!!! All those little stars!! UGH!! So Good!!

    • I’m going to be an emotional mess with This Girl. I just know it.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. I so need to read Gone Girl. My friend is begging me to. I loved Gabriel’s Inferno. Looking forward to the third book in December! Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂

    • I’m on the fence with the third book only because SR had said he wasn’t going to write it and this was back in May of last year. When I heard he was writing a third, I was a bit upset because I feel he sort of bowed to pressure, which I hope isn’t the case.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  6. Slammed sounds really good.. I definitely want to read that! I’ve never heard of Island of the Blue Dolphins, but it looks fab. Gonna have to get it to read to my son… I love finding new books to read with him 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • If you do read it with him let me know your thoughts! I don’t own a copy, but will have to buy one soon. Ooooh yes to Slammed! I was quite surprised at how much I enjoyed it and how well written it was.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I saw the film before I read the book and it’s just one of my favorite books of all time. If you do get around to it let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • To be truthful, I don’t recommend books I LOVE very much because I feel like they belong to me. If someone hates them, I take it personal. One of my cousins HATES romance, picked up Gabriel’s Inferno and now won’t stop talking about it. I want to stomp my feet and say “he’s mine!” LOL!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • You think I read nothing, but serial killer books? LOL! I love you! Off to look at synopsis.

  7. Green Eggs and Ham! Claaassic 😀 I lived and breathed Dr. Seuss growing up. Awesome list 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog 😀 New follower!

    • My mother is from Mexico and learned how to read in English because of Dr. Seuss, but I know I drove them crazy with Green Eggs and Ham.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I still haven’t read Nightmare Town! I keep saying I’m going to do it, but I don’t.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I was the girl who had it checked out of the library all the time! I drove my parents crazy watching and rewatching the film.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  8. Gone Girl has been on my list for quite some time. I should definitely move that up my list and get reading it!! LOL Great list! Quite a few on here that I’m going to have to add to my to read list!!

    Happy Tuesday!
    jaime @ Fic Fare

    • I put off Gone Girl forever and when I finally read it, I had to scratch my head wondering why I waited so long. When you get around to it, I’d love to hear your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • It’s the finding the time that’s difficult isn’t it? If you get around to it, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  9. Yikes, I haven’t read any of these, although I REALLY want to read Slammed. I’ve heard such good things about it. And you should absolutely try Sarah Dessen. There are people who don’t like her. I don’t understand those people. Thanks for visiting my TTT.

    LisaILJ @ My I’ll Tumble for YA

    • You should read Slammed! It’s one of those that I think everyone should read. I’m going to try Sarah Dessen soon!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Gone Girl had me up all night reading. It’s one I wish I could gift everyone. LOL

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  10. Heh, love that you have Green Eggs and Ham on your list! Gone Girl sounds like my kind of book. Thanks for the recs and thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog earlier!

    • Gone Girl is one of those that people either love it or hate it, but it’s mostly because the twist. I LOVE it and Flynn is spot on with a few things she points out that people do when they’re dating, etc.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Comments are closed.