Home » Meme / Surveys » Authors who could start selling junk and I’d buy it

Authors who could start selling junk and I’d buy it

topten1
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: authors on our auto-buy list. I don’t buy very many books, even from authors I’ve enjoyed in the past. Usually, I’ll just borrow those books, but I do have my favorites that I’ll buy ASAP. So if in the end, they decide to sell junk, I’ll buy it.

In no particular order:

01. Charles Finch – I love the way he writes! I think someone on Amazon said they’d read anything including his grocery list and I agree. I love his Lenox series because Finch makes it possible for me to revisit and still read like it’s the first time. He has a contemporary novel coming out later in the year / early next year and I’m already DYING to get my hands on it because I know it will be AMAZING!
Favorite books: A Stranger in Mayfair, A Burial at Sea, A Death in the Small Hours

02. Sherry Thomas – I really liked Sherry’s debut novel, Private Arrangements, but it was Not Quite a Husband that pretty much sealed the deal for me. The amount of angst in the book kept my going and ugh left me an emotional mess. Then I read His at Night and I laughed, cried and it was total love for me. All her books feature rich descriptions and strong characters.
Favorite books: Not Quite a Husband, His at Night, Ravishing the Heiress

03. Liz Carlyle – I’ve been a big fan of hers since I read The Devil You Know. There was something about the way she set up her plot and introduced characters that called to me. I miss classic Liz. I know authors grow and their writing changes, but I miss the spark her earlier books had. I still love her and she’s an autobuy for me no matter what.
Favorite books: A Woman Scorned, The Devil You know, No True Gentleman

04. Chelsea Cain – Ah Chelsea became my one of my favorites after I read Heartsick. I read her entire series in the course of a week and can’t stop raving about her. I picked up Confessions of a Teen Sleuth, and it just proved yet again why I love her.
Favorite books: Heartsick, The Night Season, Kill You Twice

05. Mary Balogh – Balogh isn’t afraid to step outside the norm when it comes to writing. She often writes complex characters, but they are believable. Plus they aren’t perfect. She’s had characters with physical disabilities as well as characters with speech impediments. I really enjoy her earlier books, those published by Signet, but I admit Tangled is my absolute favorite of hers.
Favorite books: Tangled, Slightly Dangerous, One Night for Love

06. Elizabeth Hoyt – Hoyt had me hooked with her debut novel, The Raven Prince. I really enjoyed the chapter heading fairy tales she would include and wish they were real stories! While I really liked her debut novel, it was To Seduce a Sinner that had me wanting more.
Favorite books: The Raven Prince, To Seduce a Sinner, Thief of Shadows

07. Amanda Quick – Quick’s real name is Jayne Ann Krentz and writes under that name as well as Jayne Castle. I have not read her Castle books but have read several of her contemporaries under the Krentz name. Her historical novels are what made me a fan. She can be a bit formulaic and predictable, but she’s a wonderful read. I love her Arcane Society series, but admit I can’t keep up with them at times.
Favorite books: The Paid Companion, Don’t Look Back, Wicked Widow

08. Deborah Harkness – So far we have 2 books in her All Souls trilogy, but I like her writing. She’s not afraid to mix history and fiction and come up with her own world. When I met her in August, she was really nice and interesting to listen to. Even though she says readers wouldn’t want her as a professor, I’d love to sit in on a class.
Favorite books: Discovery of Witches, Shadow of Night

09. Elizabeth Thornton – Thornton became a favorite when I picked up The Bride’s Bodyguard. Borders, didn’t have the book I wanted and noticed Bodyguard was on sale for $2.99 and I bought it. Shortly afterwards I made my way through her backlist and never looked backed. Thornton died in 2010, but if she were still alive, I’d still buy her books.
Favorite books: Strangers at Dawn, The Perfect Princess, You Only Love Twice

10. Bernard Cornwell – Words cannot describe how much I LOVE his books. I first came across Cornwell after my first viewing of Sean Bean as Richard Sharpe in Sharpe’s Rifles. I became intrigued and quickly worked my way through the series before moving on to more of Cornwell’s work. His books have the right balance of history and fiction. He’s just perfect.
Favorite books: The Richard Sharpe series, 1356, The Last Kingdom

38 thoughts on “Authors who could start selling junk and I’d buy it

    • I like her writing her too! When you finish Discovery, I’d like to know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by and if you do read any of the authors listed, let me know your thoughts. 🙂

  1. I haven’t read any of these authors but ‘Discovery of Witched’ is sitting on my bedside table waiting to be read. I borrowed it from my mums book club, so I’m glad to see she makes a good impression 🙂

    • I hope you like Discovery! Let me know your thoughts when you finish reading it.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  2. Lol, I love the title of your post! Sadly I only know one name from your list, Deborah Harkness and I haven’t even read Discovery of Witches yet! I should definitely do that soon!

    Thanks for stopping by!

    • Thank you: re title! Ah no worries-one reason why I love these type of lists is you get to discover new authors, etc.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  3. Very interesting list! And I actually have to admit I haven’t read any of the authors on it. I guess I need more books on my TBR, off to Goodreads to read some blurbs 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT post earlier.

    • I’m always adding books to my TBR pile because of these lists! I have so much fun seeing what people love.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • I waited to read Discovery for what seems like forever. I picked it up in July after I heard a few people raving about Shadow of Night and haven’t looked back.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  4. I liked the Sharpe tv series with Sean Bean, too. Haven’t thought of checking out the books, though–must do that. 🙂

    • I enjoyed the series immensely! Do check out the books. If you do, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  5. I LOVE how you changed the tittle for this list. 😀 Believe it or not – I never did read anything from any of the authors on your list, except maybe one historical romance by A.Quick 15 years ago. Although most of them are on my tbr, so I hope to give them a chance soon.
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT.
    Dragana @ Bookworm Dreams

    • Thank you re: title! Ah Quick-I can’t keep up with her Arcane series. There are way too many lately. If you pick up any of the authors I’ve mentioned, let me know your thoughts!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    • Thank you re: title! You should read Discovery! If you ever do pick it up, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  6. I LOVE Deborah Harkness. She writes books on the history/time period I study too, so it’s such a WIN of a book for me. Sigh. I’d LOVE to take her courses!

    • That’s your area of study? That’s awesome! I’m earlier, Medieval with focus on 14th century England. I’m with you re: taking a class with her. Let’s enroll. 😉

  7. I love the tagline you used for this list! We don’t have any authors in common, but I have a feeling Deborah Harkness might join the ranks once I finally get around to reading her books. I think part of me just want to wait until the whole trilogy is out, even though my husband has been raving about the first two and begging me to read them!

    • Your husband read the books? That’s so cool! I have to say wait for book 3. That way by the time you’re done with book 2, you can pick up right where Harkness left off. When you read them, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  8. I haven’t heard of any of these authors besides Deborah Harkness and I still need to read her Discover of Witches series. Thanks for sharing and visiting my TTT. I will have to check out all the other authors you will automatically buy.

    • It took me a long time to finally get around to Harkness and Discovery. Once I did, I just couldn’t put her books down. If you do read Discovery, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  9. I have Discovery of Witches but I haven’t read it yet! It sounds so interesting though. I need to check out the rest of the authors on your list.

    • I admit I had Harnkess on my TBR pile forever! I finally got around to reading her this past July and it was just total love. If you do end up reading her, let me know your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  10. I have a discovery of Witches sitting on my shelf and I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet. I have heard such great things about this series. I am glad you liked her writing enough to add it to this list.

    Thanks for sharing.

    • I had Discovery sitting in my TBR pile forever before I finally read it this past July. If you do get around to read it, let me know your thoughts!

      Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

  11. Deborah Harkness is a must by of mine too. I’d love to meet her. Although A Discovery of Witches took me months to finish and I’m still only half way though Shadow of Night – I love her style. The third book is going to be an auto-buy for me too.

    • I had some free time in July and read both books in 2 weeks. Here’s hoping we get book 3 soon.

  12. No worries-one of the great things about these type of lists is you get to discover new authors. Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Comments are closed.