Home » Meme / Surveys » Feature & Follow #2

Feature & Follow #2

8474595901_873f4993f4 Feature and Follow Friday is a weekly blog hop hosted by Parajunkee & Alison Can Read. It’s a fun way to find other blogs and meet new bloggers.

You can follow Lit, etc via Twitter, Facebook, or subscribe to the blog via email. Please let me know if you’re a new follower and I’ll follow back.


Q: We always talk about books that WE want. Let’s turn it on its head. What books have you given other people lately?

Oh dear…lately I’ve been giving out 2 particular books.  The first is Heartsick by Chelsea Cain.  If I see “mystery / thrillers” listed in their preferences, this is my go to book.  Why?  Jackie Collins recently said it best, “there is one female crime writer that I cannot get enough of, and that’s the fabulous Chelsea Cain. Chelsea created the most intriguing serial killer since Hannibal Lecter in Thomas Harris’s “Red Dragon.” Chelsea introduces us to Gretchen Lowell in “Heartsick.” Gretchen is a truly evil fictional character who leaps off the page and stays with you. Chelsea Cain has written about Gretchen in four books, each one of them a creepy winner. I cannot wait for the next one.”-(Jackie Collins: By the Book)

The second book is A Beautiful Blue Death by Charles Finch. It’s book one in his Lenox mystery series and introduces us to Victorian gentleman, Charles Lenox. We see Lenox go from a being detective to becoming a member of Parliament; he falls in love and marries the woman he’s loved since childhood. Finch’s latest book in the series, A Death in the Small Hours, had me bawling my eyes out. Most of us wouldn’t dream of giving up our direct livelihood, but we’ve all had to make concessions and that’s what the series reminds us. And because of that, we can associate with Finch’s characters and fight alongside Lenox to make sure things are done as they should be.

50 thoughts on “Feature & Follow #2

  1. I’m a fan of Hannibal Lecter, even though my boyfriend is really afraid of him. I don’t know how many times I’ve watched Silence of the Lambs. But my sister prohibited me from buying the books because they creep her out. Still, he just fascinates me!

    Thanks for following! Following you back via Goodreads and FB 🙂

    • My sister is a big fan of Silence of the Lambs. I admit, I still haven’t watched the film all the way through.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • I still haven’t read Hannibal! If you do read Heartsick, let me know your thoughts!

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Didn’t read Heartsick yet but now you just made me really, really want to read it. H. Lecter is one of my all time fav characters (yes, I am that evil, haha).

    Awesome book-gift ideas, you’d surely make me happy with them 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    • If you read Heartsick, let me know your thoughts! Gretchen is one of a kind and by the time you get to book 3, Evil at Heart, you just want to punch to her to leave Archie alone.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  3. Both of those books sound awesome! I kind of wish someone had gifted me with them:D

    I am a new Twitter and Facebook follower, you have a really nice blog! And congratulations on being nominated for the noob award!

    Here’s my FF post for this week. I hope you’ll have a wonderful weekend.

    • I actually just gifted Heartless in a book swap exchange that another book blogger put together. I wasn’t sure if I should and I haven’t heard from my partner, but she hasn’t said anything about it in general so I’m assuming all is good.

      Thank you! The nomination for the noob award was a surprise and it’s appreciated. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • I’ve been a big fan of mysteries since I was kid. I’ve grown up with them and I think if I tried as an adult, they probably wouldn’t be my thing.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  4. I haven’t heard of either of those but they sound super interesting!!! Will have to check those out. Thank you so so much for commenting and following!!! Following you back on fb and twitter 8)

    • If you end reading Cain or Finch, let me know. I’d love to hear your thoughts.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • The mystery / thriller genre isn’t one for everyone. I do try to get people interested in it, but alas I’m okay if they find it boring! I like to be kept on my toes. LOL

      Thanks for stopping by and checking out your F&F. 🙂

    • I know they aren’t for everybody and I’m not a fan of the serial killer genre, but there’s something about Cain’s series I can’t help but love. Trust me-I have an over active imagination at night!

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • Let me know what you know think of Heartsick. Cain does an interesting job with a female serial killer.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • Gretchen is um one of a kind! Evil at Heart (book 3) is just cringe worthy. If you do end up reading Cain, let me know what you think.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  5. Oh man, Hannibal Lector. Is it bad that I found Gaspard Ulliel super hot in Hannibal Rising? Hahaha. I followed via tumblr (the-lightsintheskyarestars). Thanks for stopping by my bloggie.

  6. Oh, I will have to check these books out! I don’t read a lot of mysteries – Alexander McCall-Smith and Stephanie Barron are usually it for me. 🙂

    Thanks again for following me – I’m following you now too. 🙂

    • I’ve been meaning to try McCall-Smith & Barron. I need to buckle down and write down a list of authors I really to read. If you do end up reading Cain or Finch, let me know your thoughts!

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • I haven’t touched the Hannibal books, but I’m a bit too scared to try it! I can handle Cain and her serial killer Gretchen, but admit to walking around in a zombie state for days afterwards.

      Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

    • I left the mystery genre a few years ago. I was just uninspired to continue to read them and then I heard of Charles Finch and he brought he back.

      Thanks for stopping by! Checking out your F&F. 🙂

  7. I used to be a fan of mystery/thrillers, but I slowly fell out of love with them, becoming really picky. I can’t remember the last one I read. I haven’t heard of those books before, but you’ve made me curious. Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier. ♥

    Raina @ The LUV’NV
    (Old follower via FB and Twitter)

    • I understand about falling out of the genre. It was Charles Finch who brought me back. I’ve been there. 🙂

      Thanks for stopping by!

  8. Two interesting book choices I haven’t heard until now. I will have to check them out. New Follower through FB and Twitter. Thanks for sharing and visiting my FF. =]

  9. Nice!
    Thanks for stopping by my post. 🙂

    Following via Twitter.

  10. Haven’t heard of these books, but I am always looking for something new to read so I am going to check them out! Thanks for dropping by WV Stitcher, I hopped over to follow you via Twitter. Have a fantastic Sunday!

Comments are closed.