Home » Meme / Surveys » Books That Begged For A Home But I Still Haven’t Read

Books That Begged For A Home But I Still Haven’t Read

topten1
Hosted by The Broke and the Bookish

This week’s topic is: Books you bought but still haven’t read. If it were up to me, I’d keep buying books that sounded interesting and never look back, but at some point they need to be read. Right? What’s on your list?

In no particular order:

01. Dan Brown’s The Lost Symbol: Okay this one I didn’t actually buy, but won from Borders a few years ago. I HAD to have it and hence when the clue to win it went up, I quickly went down to the store to snatch it up and did. I feel guilty that it is sitting there waiting for me.

02. Pierre Choderlos de Laclos’ Dangerous Liaisons: I love the film version and a few years ago the film was playing on tv and suddenly the book just seemed like a good idea. Sadly, I just can’t seem to bring myself to read it.

03. Amanda Quick’s The Burning Lamp: I love Quick’s books and even though she writes under several names (Jayne Anne Krentz and Jayne Castle), it’s her Quick books that I auto-buy and collect. What happened with this one was…I just got burnt out from her whole Arcane series and needed a break from it. I just never got back to reading the series and must play catch up!

04. Leo Tolstoy’s War and Peace: To be truthful, I was given the book as a gift for graduation by a Russian friend of my parents because she heard me say I hadn’t read Tolstoy at the time. I feel guilt every time I glance at the bookshelf because she went out of her way to get me a really nice edition and it’s just collecting dust.

05. Stieg Larsson’s The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo: I saw the film version (yeah with Daniel Craig) and I wanted to read the original book to compare them. I also wanted to read it because I kept hearing how the Swedish version was better and more true to the book and I wanted to see for myself.

06. Danielle Steel’s No Greater Love: I bought this a few years ago after coming across it when I was younger. The synopsis sounded interesting and I wanted to read it, but my parents didn’t think it was appropriate reading for a teenage girl so they said no. When I could finally buy it, I did, but haven’t read it.

07. Tiffany Reisz’s The Prince: I didn’t buy this one since Tiffany was nice enough to send me a signed copy a few weeks before its release. I was looking forward to reading it and then someone on Twitter ruined the plot and ending. I just never got around to it, but Kingsley is calling me so hopefully I’ll do it soon.

08. Sharon Kay Penman’s The Queen’s Man: Medieval mystery? Heck yes! Then I remind myself how I don’t read much medieval fiction because I’m always checking facts and can’t distance myself from the research. Boo!

09. Michael Prestwich’s Armies and Warfare in the Middle Ages: The English Experience: When I saw this book at Barnes & Nobles I had it to buy because I thought at the time I could read it and maybe it might let me rewrite aspects of my master’s thesis (medieval history is my area of research with a concentration in warfare in the 14th century) so I could submit to journals for publication; however, a part of me dreads opening it up because I don’t think it will useful. In the long run (when I finally do decide to go for that PhD), yes it will be, but for now I’m happy to pretend I don’t own it.

10. John M. Collins’ Military Strategy: Principles, Practices, and Historical Perspectives: Strategy bores me to death and everyone keeps saying I need to read more of it and how can say I study medieval warfare if I refuse to properly read it. So I picked this up in hopes that it would make me a better student and nope still haven’ touched it.

11 thoughts on “Books That Begged For A Home But I Still Haven’t Read

  1. War and Peace! That’s been on my shelf for so long! I read Anna Karenina last year, so let’s just say I probably won’t be picking him up this year. Maybe in 2014! 😀 I really liked The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo–but only because the whodunit mystery was so well-written. In terms of the characters and the trilogy at large, I wasn’t wowed. Great list!
    My TTT

  2. Aww, that’s sweet of your friend to give you War and Peace. I doubt I would ever get to it since it seems quite daunting!

  3. I get what you mean about a classic like War and Peace sitting there gathering dust and making you feel guilty!

    I can’t decide whether to read any of the Stieg Larsson books. I’m sure they’re great, but probably a little anti-climactic since I’ve already since the films. And you should definitely check out the Swedish version of the film – the first one, at least.

    Stephanie (Go Flash Go) @ Read, Rinse, Repeat

  4. The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo should have been on my list. I’ve owned it FOREVER. And, I have SO many classics collecting dust these days, it makes me feel SO guilty!

  5. Don’t feel bad about War and Peace…super sad ad depressing. I have no regrets giving away my Anna Karenina. I had to read and watch excerpts for my Russian course. I still don’t get the big deal about it…???

Comments are closed.